Aretha Franklin and Stevie Wonder headline 2019 R&B HOF Class
eMusic Wire/10020317

Two of Detroit's finest will be honored in their hometown. Already inducted as an artist, Mrs. Franklin will now be inducted as a songwriter. This marks Stevie Wonder's initial induction.

DETROIT - April 22, 2019 - eMusicWire -- The National Rhythm & Blues Hall of Fame has announced its 2019 class that will be inducted at its 8th annual ceremony. The event will be held at the Charles H. Wright Museum in Detroit, MI on Sunday, June 23rd. Red Carpet/Media begins at 4:00 PM, with the ceremony starting at 5:00 PM.

Aretha Franklin, already inducted as an artist in 2015, will be inducted post-humorously as a songwriter, for her numerous classics such as: Call Me, Daydreaming, Dr. Feelgood, Rock Steady, Think, and Who's Zoomin' Who.

Stevie Wonder, another Michigan musical legend, will also be inducted. His career has spanned almost 6 decades, since signing with Motown at the age of 11. During that time, he has become one of the most accomplished and decorated artists of our time.

More on eMusic Wire
The 2019 R&B HOF class is also rounded out by a diverse collection of artists that have had a major impact on R&B. The full list of inductees can be found on the official website:

Ticket prices are $65.00 and can be purchased at:

The entire weekend will be full of activities, beginning on Friday, June 21st. For a detailed list of events for the entire weekend, visit:

CEO/Founder – Lamont Robinson
National R&B HOF

Source: National R&B Hall of Fame
Filed Under: Music

Show All News | Report Violation

1000 characters max.

Latest on eMusic Wire