Cymarshall Law - I Still Love H.E.R. (Album)
eMusic Wire/10146460

BURLINGTON, N.J. - eMusicWire -- With more than 15 years in the game and a slew of releases to his name, Cymarshall Law has more than proven himself as one of underground hip-hop's most talented mainstays. And with the release of his new album, I Still Love H.E.R., the New Jersey-based emcee is making his biggest statement yet. It's one of a renewed love for the culture, how it changed his life two decades ago, and how it continues to shape the way he lives his life.

"Life can suck the life out of you if you let it," Cy says. "This album is me pouring life back into hip-hop because I still love it." You can hear that love running through his lyrics and beat choices on this record's 12 tracks, which are brimming with dust-covered sample flips and neck-breaking drums. It's primarily produced by Indiana beatsmith Chopzilla, aside from "4 Jersey" and "The Incredibles," produced by Hexagon and Slimline Mutha, respectively.

Cy is mostly on his own on the mic, save for some standout guest appearances. One of them was actually a dream-turned-reality for the emcee. "For The Love" features a dope verse from U.G. of the Cella Dwellas, one of Cy's favorite groups. "U.G. is one of the greats who doesn't get the love he deserves," he adds.

More on eMusic Wire
Other notable cuts include "I Still Love H.E.R.," which features frequent collaborators Venomous2000 and Kafeeno, as well as "Creators," which also features Kafeeno. As Cy tells it, these tracks showcase some of his favorite bars on the album. More than clever bars and ill beats, Cy just wants people to feel his passion for the craft—and for the love of creating in general. "I want to remind people about following their dreams," Cy says. "I want them to see me following mine; then I want them to recall their own passions."

I Still Love H.E.R.
is available now through all major digital retailers and streaming platforms via Cy's Freedom Entertainment imprint. In addition to the album, Cy is also pleased to release his first book, I Still Love H.E.R.—Cyography—52 Laws of Freedom, which is part autobiography, part self-help, part poetry, and a coloring book.

Smart URL:

01. Intro to H.E.R.
02. MF LAW [feat. DJ Phillip Lee]
03. I Still Love H.E.R. (feat. Venomous2000 & Kafeeno)
04. 4 Jersey
05. The Innocence of Love (feat. Dynasty & Kafeeno)
06. For the Love (No Cap) (feat. U.G. of the Cella Dwellas & Kafeeno)
07. The Voice of Hip Hop (Interlude)
08. The Normal New (Growing Up in the Pandemic)
09. Electric B-Boy
10. The Incredibles (feat. Grafh & DJ GI Joe)
11. Creators (feat. Kafeeno)
12. Spit it Dad (King's Revenge)

Source: Freedom Entertainment
Filed Under: Music

Show All News | Report Violation


Latest on eMusic Wire